Next Same Heartbeats, a split zine?

Hey there!

Recently I’ve read a few split zines and I feel very tempted to make one myself. A split zine is a zine made together by two zine makers. Usually they each make half of the zine, with each a cover page at one end of the zine (turn the zine around and upside down and you can start reading the other half) and in the middle, their last pages meet. It looks like a fun and creative collaboration to me!

rummuff2-445pxSome nice split zines I’ve read include: Rum-muffel by Isy Morgenmuffel and Steve Larder of Rumlad, Your Pretty Face is Going Straight to Hell #14 / Here. In My Head #7 by Miss Tukru and Catherine Elms and Pieces #8.5 a 24-hour split zine by a zine maker and her mother. Reading split zines is extra great too, because it’s 2 zines you’re reading! Double zine fun!

IMG_6787webI’ve thought about making a split zine a few times before. Some embryonic plans were made in the past: Not Ladylike was supposed to be a split zine with Manuela of Bunnies On Strike & Manupalooza, but in the end I made it on my own, although it featured an essay by Manuela. Later my friend Kim and I planned a zine about dreams, but we never got further than a few pages, so it’s still under construction.

YPF_14-001I’m not sure how to approach things now. Who’d like to make a split zine with me? And how would we make it together? Is it easier to do with someone living closeby so we can meet to write, draw, cut and paste the zine by hand? Or could we scan the zine and turn it into a pdf we can both print, no matter where we live? And how many pages should it be? Shall I make my side of the zine as an issue of Same Heartbeats or is it better to invent a new one-off zine? So many questions… but it’s nice to start thinking about it. I’m curious to hear about the experiences of split-zine-makers! Tell me your story if you ever made split zine!

About rebelsister

fem!n!st!
This entry was posted in Contributions, Looking for..., Zine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

