November challenges?

Each year in November the writing challenge NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month – takes place. The idea of this project is to write a (unedited!) novel of 50 000 words in 30 days. Because so many people are participating and sharing their progress, difficulties, and support online, it is an encouraging community project. Since last year ZineWriMo was invented too, to encourage the creation of a zine during the month of November. In their facebook group you can find other zinesters taking part in this challenge. October also had Inktober – to make an ink drawing each day of the month – which sounded like fun and I would have liked to participate but I saw it too late and was too busy anyway.

So now I’m thinking about what to do in November. I could probably make a zine that month but a drawing challege sounds interesting too. Some zine ideas I have in my mind for the future are a witch/halloween-style arty mini-zine, a Brussels DIY tourist zine, the beginnings of a librarian split/colabzine… and of course I’m working on Same Heartbeats #12 which I could finish in November too. I would also like the idea of making a lino cut each day (however small) and by the end of the month, print them all (in a zine or on cards)! Or make a drawing in a different technique and/or colour each day. Or make a zine that tells the story of all the buttons/badges in my button collection. Or make a recipe zine full of recipes I tried out or invented each day (however simple)…

Are you doing any writing/drawing/zine challenges next month?

About rebelsister

fem!n!st!
This entry was posted in DIY, Zine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November challenges?

  1. Nyx says:

    I may have a little challenge list for November that I’ll be putting up on my blog tomorrow. ^_^

Leave a Reply

